A.K.A. gossip.

I am seriously convicted when it comes to gossip. I feel like random conversations can always easily turn into bash sessions of other people. Normally laced with a little bit of kindness “he’s an awesome guy and I love him, but…” gossip can always cause a world of hurt to someone.

I find myself joining in on these conversations far too often and I am really trying to work on taming my tongue. These are my brothers and sisters in Christ I’m speaking of. So I need to always be trying to not just protect their reputation but bring more honor to their name as well. The golden rule being applied here would solve a lot of problems.

The Heidelberg Catechism says it excellently: “I should love the truth, speak it candidly, and openly acknowledge it. And I should do what I can to guard and advance my neighbor’s good name.”

If you find yourself being sucked into that kind of conversation, just jump in and say some great things about the person and then change the direction of that conversation. Bring on the love baby.

